|Name:||St. Francis Church and Convent|
|Address:||501 East Chase Street|
|Standing? Yes||Year: 1870|
The Oblate Sisters of Providence were organized in 1829 in Baltimore. The order was formed by a group of San Domingo refugees at 510 George Street. They were the first African-American order of Roman Catholic nuns in the United States, and they founded the first school for African-American children in Maryland. In 1870, property was purchased at 50l E. Chase Street for a new convent. Frederick designed the four story building which is styled in a restrained version of Second Empire. The cornerstone was laid by Archbishop Spalding on November 27, 1870.
The Oblate Sisters have a full and rich history in education for Baltimore's black community. Today the St. Frances Academy restoration is a keystone in the revitalization of the Johnston Square community. The convent and chapel are to be restored, plus a pedestrian mall, athletic fields, faculty parking and a gymnasium are planned for the future. Part of the Baltimore East/South Clifton Park Historic District, as recognized by the National Register of Historic Places, added 12/27/2002.